Bureau of South Asian Affairs [Department of State] Law and Legal Definition

The Bureau of South Asian Affairs is an office within the Department of State that deals with the U.S. foreign policy and U.S. relations with the countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan..

The Bureau of South Asian Affairs was created because of the importance of Central Asia to the U.S. national interests. The Bureau recognizes the uniqueness of each of the Central Asian nations, their sovereignty and independence. The U.S. policy supports the development of fully sovereign, stable democratic nations, integrated into the world economy and cooperating with one another.