Confederate Law and Legal Definition

Confederate means related to the government of the eleven southern states of the United States which (1860-1865) attempted to establish an independent nation styled the Confederate States of America; with a Confederate congress; Confederate money, Confederate constitution, etc. Member states included Mississippi, Florida, South Carolina, Arkansas, North Carolina, Virginia, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas.

The Confederate States of America lasted from February 1861, when delegates from seven seceding states met to form a provisional government, until May 1865, when Jefferson Davis and the remnants of the Confederate national government were captured by federal troops. The United States government regarded the Confederacy not even as a de facto government, but merely as an organized rebellion with no status in international law.