European Community Law and Legal Definition

According to 7 CFR 98.101 [Title 7—Agriculture; Subtitle B -- Regulations of the Department of Agriculture; Chapter I -- Agricultural Marketing Service H1 (Standards, Inspections, Marketing Practices), Department of Agriculture; Subchapter E -- Commodity Laboratory Testing Programs - Part 98 -- Meals, Ready-to-Eat (MRE's), Meats, and Meat Products; Subpart B -- USDA Certification of Laboratories for the Testing of Trichinae in Horsemeat] the European Community (EC) consists of “the initial 12 European countries and the updated and expanded membership of nations. The original EC members are Belgium, Britain, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.”