Federal Communication Commission Law and Legal Definition

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent U.S. federal agency. The FCC was created as a result of the Communications Act of 1934. The FCC replaced the Federal Radio Commission. However, its responsibilities are much more than the FRC. The FCC is responsible for regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

The FCC has seven operating bureaus and ten staff offices under it. The FCC discharges its responsibilities with help of these offices and bureaus. The FCC is directed by five Commissioners.

The Commissioners are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Thet serve for 5-year terms, except when filling an unexpired term. The President designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairperson. The Commissioners supervise all FCC activities, delegating responsibilities to staff units and Bureaus. Only those persons who do not have any financial interest in the FCC are eligible to become Commissioners.