Federal Reserve District Law and Legal Definition

Under the Federal Reserve System, the U.S. is divided into 12 regions or districts. This is known as the Federal Reserve district. Each District has a Reserve Bank serving it. The twelve Reserve Banks are named after the city in which they are located. They are : Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas and San Francisco.