Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) Law and Legal Definition

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight international development goals established at the Millennium Summit in 2000. 192 United Nations member states and many international organizations agreed to achieve these goals by the year 2015. The eight goals are:

1.Eradicate extreme poverty,

2.Reduce child mortality rates,

3.Universal primary education,

4.Gender equality and empowerment of women,

5.Improve maternal health,

6.Fighting disease epidemics such as AIDS,

7.Ensure environment sustainability, and

8.Develop a global partnership for development.