Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Law and Legal Definition

What is Supplemental Security Income?

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a Federal income-supplement program funded by general tax revenues (not Social Security taxes):

* SSI is designed to help aged, blind, and disabled people, who have little or no income; and

* SSI provides cash to meet basic needs for food, clothing, and shelter.

The maximum Federal SSI benefit changes yearly. Effective January 1, 2009, the Federal SSI benefit rate is $674 for an individual and $1,011 for a couple.

Some States supplement the Federal SSI benefit with additional payments. This makes the total SSI benefit levels higher in those States. SSI benefit amounts and State supplemental payment amounts vary based upon the recipient's income, living arrangements, and other factors.

No State Supplement

The Territory of Northern Mariana Islands and the following States do not pay a supplement to people who receive SSI:

Arkansas, Kansas, Mississippi, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

State Supplement Administered by Social Security Administration.

The Social Security Administration (SSA) administers the State supplement for the District of Columbia and several States. You may contact the SSA about your total benefit amount. The jurisdictions for which the SSA administers the State supplement are as follows:

California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa*, Massachusetts, Michigan*, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New York*, Pennsylvania*, Rhode Island, Utah, and Vermont*.

Note: * Indicates a dual administration State. Both the SSA and these States administer some State supplements.

State Administered Supplement

The following States pay and administer supplemental payments, and you may contact the State for payment information.

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wyoming.