Wassenaar Arrangement Law and Legal Definition

The Wassenaar arrangement refers to the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies. It is a multilateral export control regime (MECR) that focuses on the transparency of national export control regimes and not granting veto power to individual members over organizational decisions. The purpose of the arrangement was to prevent destabilizing accumulations by contributing to regional and international security and stability and promoting transparency and greater responsibility in transfers of conventional arms and dual-use goods and technologies. Under the arrangement, the participating states, through their national policies ensures that transfers of these items do not contribute to the development or enhancement of military capabilities which undermine these goals, and are not diverted to support such capabilities.

The participating states of the Wassenaar Arrangement are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the U.S.